Playing Catchup on Life

Jeepers crow you guys, I feel like I haven’t had a chance to breathe lately!

Frankie is doing just fine, getting loved on by our resident Talented Junior Rider(TM) and getting a bit of a break from the intense training we’ve been in. I’ll be out this week to ride, but there’s lots going on in the non-horse world that’s keeping me busy!

img_3814
Frankie LOVES his TJR. She makes him work hard, but loves on him and takes him for walks. He’s one happy boy.

First off- as I already mentioned, last week I came home to a new apartment! All my stuff is unpacked but it’s definitely still in transition as my dude moves his stuff in as well over the next few weeks. We also won’t have a couch for roughly a month (worth waiting to get one for free IMO). So it’s a bit chaotic and a bit unorganized but it’s also fantastic. I’m a 3 minute drive (or a 10 minute walk if I ever stop being a lazy butt) from work, we have tons of closet space, and are close to friends and family. It doesn’t get much better than that.

img_3729
All I wanted was a porch. And we got a porch. I’m so happy.

 

Nick and I also drove up to the Buffalo area this past weekend for a family reunion! His mom’s side of the family gets together every year and this was my first intro to most of them before the wedding. There’s nothing quite like meeting 40+ of your future in-laws in one go. It was a serious blast- we picked cherries, we played tug-of-war with the cousins, basked in the pool, ate TONS of good food, and generally enjoyed the summertime with family.

img_3788
We went for lots of golf cart rides around the farm because it was SUPER BEAUTIFUL
img_3797
This dog’s name was Buster and he was literally the best at being a dog. The happiest, friendliest, chillest black lab on the planet.

We also snuck by Niagara Falls for literally 90 seconds on our way home so I could see them while we were up there.

img_3811
SMILE OK GREAT NOW RUN BACK TO THE CAR BECAUSE THE FREE PARKING WAS ONLY 20 MINUTES

Between Lake Placid and this trip, I really don’t want to have to drive to upstate New York again for a little while. No more road trips pls.

And then things are moving forward on the wedding-planning front! All the big vendors have been booked, so we’re kinda in a lull. The big decisions are made, and it’s not reeeeally time for the detailed decisions yet. But I’ve got my checklists and timelines and spreadsheets (duh) so I think we’re still in great shape.

img_3728
Fun fact- Minted liked our save the date cards so much, they asked to use our picture. They changed the info obvi, but cool to see us in advertisements!

After a really intense few months in the thick of show season, it feels good to switch gears back to my “civilian life” for a little bit for a change of pace. I’m eager to settle into a new routine in the new place, and find a balance between training and progressing with Frankie in our off season and being a functioning adult.

6 thoughts on “Playing Catchup on Life

  1. Liz 07/09/2018 / 10:13 am

    ‘Cause that is the greatest photo ever!

    How lucky that Frankie has TJR to keep him movin’ while mom can do the adult things. And how freaking sweet re: your commute options! So short either way.

    Like

  2. Stacie Seidman 07/09/2018 / 10:58 am

    Definitely an exciting and busy time for you! The new place sounds perfect, and I’m sure you’ll really enjoy the short commute!
    Glad you have someone to help with Frankie when you can’t be there. That’s one thing I miss about boarding!

    Like

  3. the_everything_pony 07/09/2018 / 5:27 pm

    Super exciting! The cherry picking sounds awesome! Also Frankie DOES look like he’s in heaven, so good thing you have TJR to help out as you transition!

    Like

  4. Susan 07/09/2018 / 7:35 pm

    My brand new couch is taking 10-12 weeks to arrive (grrrrr) so really, 4 weeks isn’t so bad!

    Like

  5. Sleepy Equestrian 07/11/2018 / 10:29 pm

    That sounds like such a fun family trip! (If exhausting) also yay for porches and convenient living locations – I loved being able to walk to work while I was in college, as long as it was decent out haha

    Like

  6. carey 07/19/2018 / 3:33 pm

    Bleh, you’re so cute in your pink porch dress. Happy to hear things are just peachy all around! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment