Is This Heaven?

Is what I’m pretty sure Francis is saying every day right now.

The Boy has officially started his new lease, with a wonderful kiddo who just ADORES him. They’re relatively new to the barn, and were looking for a safe safe mount to build confidence and start attending some rated shows. My trainer immediately knew that they were clearly looking for a Francis.

Apparently the parents were a bit nervous about trying out a 17.1h horse, since the kid has been over-mounted and intimidated in the past, to which my trainer said: “If you want your kid to be safe, this is the horse you want. He is a mother’s dream.”

A MOTHER’S DREAM. Accurate.

Anyways, he’s moved back to my trainer’s main property, he’s being ridden a couple times a week doing 2′-2’6″ish, his kid has great balance and generally stays out of his way, and she stuffs him with treats all day long just for being cute. I get messages from the parents regularly on how sweet and wonderful and entertaining and perfect he is. He’s pretty sure this is what heaven looks like.

They even went to their first show already (his kid’s first rated outing!) and did wonderfully. I always get a little nervous that he’ll be in jumper mode on the first day of a show, but I think the last few years on lease have taught him to truly embrace the hunter/eq life. He was a doll for his kid.

Angel bby

I have to give a major shoutout to my trainer here as well. I know some people feel angst about paying commission for in-barn leases, but she earned every penny and more. She arranged for him to move back to her main barn, she coordinated switching over the farrier and vet, she walked the new folks through getting his Smartpaks set up, she sent me the contract for review. Literally all I had to do was chat with the new leasers to make sure I liked them enough to trust them with my horse, then coordinate payment. That’s it. She made my life SO easy, and she was so conscientious about making sure Frankie didn’t experience a single interruption in the care he’s used to getting.

It’s always a little bittersweet and a little nerve wracking to start a new lease and hope it goes well, but we have a 100% track record of finding lovely families who truly adore and appreciate Frankie for all that he offers. They’re off to a wonderful start, and I’m excited to be their ringside cheerleaders at the summer shows with 2(!) kids in tow!

4 thoughts on “Is This Heaven?

  1. seseidman 04/24/2024 / 8:24 pm

    Sounds like another perfect match! I don’t mind paying commissions when they’re due at all! Especially in your situation. Your trainer is worth every penny. She really sounds like an organized, educated, kind, and thoughtful person.

    Like

    • Olivia Pechstein 04/30/2024 / 8:17 am

      She really is the best – going on 10 years with her and still learning so much ❤ And the way she loves and appreciates the Frankfurter just makes my heart so happy

      Like

  2. Avery 04/25/2024 / 8:53 am

    I love this so much and am so happy for you! I know I have said all this before, but you have the best horse family ❤

    Like

    • Olivia Pechstein 04/30/2024 / 8:16 am

      Truly truly we do!! I’m not sure how we got so lucky, but I’m grateful every day to have such amazing people!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment