Decisions, Decisions

And all of them fun!

As you know, I’m already pretty pumped for next season with the Frankfurter. I’m absolutely giddy at the thought of getting our butts in shape and working together towards our goals.

But that means I have to define our goals. Which is HARD YO. Because we have some really great options.

Option one: stick with the original plan and work towards a move up to the Low AOs. This would mean competence at 1.20m and tentatively 1.25m for some of the bigger classics. I think this is pretty within reach for our abilities. I doubt we would qualify for any year-end shows, because the additional fees for the bigger heights would mean fewer shows, and also let’s be honest it’s historically tough for me to be any good in my first season at a new height. But that’s fine by me if we go this route. If I want to do this with Frankie, next year would be the time to do it since he isn’t getting any younger.

IMG_3192.jpg
His first 1.20m class this past year and while he was surprised, he wasn’t particularly struggling

Option two: stay at the 1.10-1.15m and try to be really really good at it. If I did this, I would set my sights on qualifying for some fun shows- Penn, WIHS, maybe Team Finals again, etc. I’d have to be pretty strategic about getting points for these since the budget is not unlimited, but I certainly think we could have a blast exploring new options at our current height. It’s clearly well within Frankie’s abilities, and I could still send him in with AT to do some 1.20m classes to keep him really sharp (also I love playing Owner, it’s super fun).

jtc_sat_sash
We could try for more big ribbons

Option three: say screw it all and go for something completely different like the Adult Eq or some National Derbies. BECAUSE WHY NOT HAVE ALL THE OPTIONS??? Especially with how dang broke my horse is now, and how cute he’s learned to jump, I think we could try some different rings and have a blast. I’m leaning towards doing this in a few years though, once he wants to step down to 3′.

img_4204
IF A JUNIOR CAN DO IT SO CAN I

Option four: some mix of all of these? Forego some of the shows and try to clinic with some big names? (Peter Wylde is coming to my area next June, and GM tends to roll through every fall). Try a local HT? Do other stuff I’m not thinking of?

IMG_0964
We could just stand majestically for a while, he’s pretty dope at that.

Basically, I can’t lose. There’s certainly tradeoffs to consider, and in some cases choosing one option means closing another one off, but there really is no bad option. I’m planning to sit down with my trainer in the next few weeks to come up with a game plan for our show season, and see what she thinks will work for us.

No matter what we choose, or if we do a mix of everything, there is one constant.

I will take a thousand pictures of Francis napping everywhere we go.

IMG_2202.jpg
SNOOZES 4 LYFE

22 thoughts on “Decisions, Decisions

  1. roamingridersite 10/30/2018 / 7:44 am

    A lot of great options for the next season. I’m sure whatever you choose will be a blast with Frankie as your partner.

    Like

  2. martidoll123 10/30/2018 / 8:49 am

    I agree with Amanda mix it up and do a HT you would have a blast with Frankie!! DO ALL THE FUN THINGS

    Like

  3. Stacie Seidman 10/30/2018 / 9:33 am

    I’d say mix it up. There’s no reason you can’t get really, really good at your current height, and maybe try the move up at some smaller, less expensive shows. Best of both worlds!
    With my old man Rio, we did the adults, then the low a/o’s, and then in his older years we did the equitation and the hunters. A/O’s then AA’s as he got less sturdy. So I’m kind of with you on saving that stuff for later. But later is never guaranteed, so if you REALLY want to do it, fit it into the mix 😉

    Like

    • hellomylivia 10/30/2018 / 12:40 pm

      That’s kinda what I’m thinking- we’re lucky to have some B/C shows around here that are pretty willing to put up the jumps for people who want show experience at a higher height, even if they don’t have a full division. Might be a fun way for us to get miles!

      Like

  4. Rachel - For Want of a Horse 10/30/2018 / 10:26 am

    How amazing is it that you have so many options! Any of them will be great but I think that you should try for the highs. I think that you will love the challenge to yourself and when you do need to slow down you can do it knowing that you went higher than you ever originally dreamed.

    Like

    • hellomylivia 10/30/2018 / 12:40 pm

      I’m leaning towards that for sure- even if it’s just a class or two, I’d love to experience that height with my main man ❤

      Like

  5. Emily 10/30/2018 / 11:02 am

    Frankie is just so special. I think you would have a blast doing all the things with him! I would say try to pursue your highest goals with him in the coming year, and then take the next year to do whatever strikes you as fun. Whatever you do, make sure you document all the naps.

    Like

  6. Centered in the Saddle 10/30/2018 / 11:49 am

    I agree, you definitely should enter a HT next year regardless of whatever else you do. It’s cross training, right? 😉

    Like

  7. Liz 10/31/2018 / 4:24 am

    Go for the gollldddd!

    Like

  8. Boss Mare Eventing 10/31/2018 / 10:13 am

    I was gunna say GO eventing too haha

    I would aim high, you never know when you will have a horse with such capabilities again (at least thats how I think for myself).

    But at the end of the day we all know how making plans with horses goes LOL you will have fun no matter what you do.

    Like

    • hellomylivia 11/01/2018 / 8:44 am

      Haha exactly my thoughts- it’s a good time to aim high, but ultimately it’ll be Frankie who makes the call!

      Like

Leave a comment