October 10 Questions: Blog Hop

Thank you Liz for the awesome blog content! I’m loving the ode to all things fall- the best time of the year.

Most equestrians quote fall as their favorite season to ride. Are you one of those that does? Or maybe not; what is your favorite season to ride, if so?

Yes! So much yes! October in Virginia is my idea of paradise. Low humidity, beautiful breezes, cool but not freezing, and lovely views out over the neighborhood. The horses all start getting their dark winter coats and there’s enough crispness in the air to give them an extra pep in their step. Spring is nice too, but the pollen gets absolutely everywhere, and out of loyalty to Manfriend and his awful allergies I hate spring in a show of solidarity. Summer is too hot and humid and winter is the actual worst. Fall all the way forever.

IMG_1060.jpg
Beautiful views from the barn!

Do you clip your horse in the fall? Or maybe you wait a little longer? 

Ugh. Yes. Francis got super fuzzy super early this season, and the nights are starting to cool down while the days still get up into the high 70s. I’d consider his workload moderately heavy at the moment, so clipping him has helped keep him comfortable as I ask him to sweat.

Have any costume riding events in October on/near/around Halloween? What will your horse be dressed as? What about yourself? What would you dress as if money/time were absolutely no issue?

We have an in-house show coming up that I’m angling to do a costume class for! Though I will admit that I haven’t put any thought into what Frankie would be. If money/time was no object, I would love to either turn him into the Millennium Falcon so I could be Han Solo, or turn him into the USS Enterprise so I could be Captain James T. Kirk. I have a thing for scrappy belligerent space captains, clearly (so another option could be to turn him into Serenity and I could be Mal…).

dsc_0011
Last year’s Tour de Francis costume

Is your horse afraid of any autumn colors? Or maybe has a certain quirk that appears only in the autumn?

Hahahaha no. Frankie has not yet found something that he’s afraid of. And “quirks” are not really a thing that he does. I swear, he and Manfriend are tied for first place in the Most Emotionally Stable Creature Award. Which is a fantastic thing because I am a roller coaster of a human being.

Pumpkin spice. It’s everywhere right now. Find any natural pumpkin [squash] spice-esque recipes for your horse? 

I am the meanest ever no-treat mom. Tons and tons of pats and scratches and praise, but no treats for the big guy.

We’re getting to the end of the calendar year, any final few “big-bang” shows to look forward to?

Zone Finals! We have two classes on Saturday (the WIHS qualifier) and two classes on Sunday (actual Zone 3 Finals). I am super super excited for both days. We’ll get to see some of the friends we made at Team finals and I like how the schedule works- two classes a day is our sweet spot, and only two days in a row means I’ll still have a nice fresh horse on Sunday. They also build up the heights for each class which is a nice progression: 1.05-1.10m and 1.10-1.15m on day one, then 1.15m on day two. While we haven’t prepared for this as rigorously as we did for Team finals in August, I think a little mental refresher was great for both of us. Frankie feels fit, is going great, and I’m beyond excited to end our season with a bang!

Winter is coming. What are you doing to winterize your trailer/rig/car?

No trailer, so nothing on that front! And my car is a 4WD Jeep, so I don’t do anything differently with it in the winter. I do know that I’ll need a new car sooner rather than later, but I’m hoping my trusty vehicle will last through one more winter before I have to bite that expensive bullet.

Do you have any autumn traditions you/your horse follow?

More trail rides on the weekends! It’s just too hot to enjoy this in the summer. Even if I’ve already put in a good workout, I like to go for a walk around the neighborhood to cool out- as long as sunlight allows.

1
Sometimes we go for walks together too

October in many places marks the beginning of deer hunting season. Does this affect your riding at all? Do you wear blaze orange or modify your schedule to accommodate the season?

Our barn is in a residential neighborhood, so I don’t worry about this too much. I do hear more gunshots (this is Virginia, after all) but never nearby. I also usually take my trail rides in the early afternoons on the weekends, which is not prime hunting hours.

What are you most looking forward to goal-wise as the final months of the calendar year approach?

Oh boy. I don’t even know- there’s a few things in the works that would be AWESOME if they happened, but I don’t want to jinx it by getting ahead of myself. At the end of the day, I’m just psyched to keep having fun with my favorite horse on the planet, building our fitness, and honing our skills. We’ll be picking right back up in February to kick off our new season!

5 thoughts on “October 10 Questions: Blog Hop

  1. Liz 10/17/2017 / 5:08 am

    The autumn vista from your barn is beautiful!

    Like

    • hellomylivia 10/18/2017 / 12:02 pm

      I love it! Nothing compares to all your pics of WV though- talk about WOW

      Like

  2. Susan 10/18/2017 / 11:46 am

    I’m curious, what’s your reason behind no treats? If you don’t mind sharing! I’m definitely not a big treat feeder, but I wouldn’t go so far as to say none, ever.

    Like

    • hellomylivia 10/18/2017 / 12:00 pm

      I don’t mind sharing at all! In fact, maybe I should put together a post on it. In a nutshell- Frankie gets really excited and forgets his manners when treats are around. Not dangerous in any sense and it’s not awful, but pushy and rude. He really thrives on verbal and physical feedback, so pats and scratches are his reward for being a good boy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

