My Horse, the Guru

Frankie obviously has taught me so much about riding since I brought him home. But he’s also taught me a lot about how I want to move through life. Here are just a few of the life lessons my sweet  boy has taught me.

~~~~~~~~~~~

Even though Mom hasn’t fed me a cookie in six months, today might be the day she gives me a cookie.

Hope springs eternal with this horse. Past patterns be damned, that’s in the past! Today is a new day and there is always ALWAYS the possibility of good things. I strive to live my life with this kind of optimism.

I’m happy to go anywhere you ask, but I’d like it better if I could lead the way instead of having to follow slow walkers.

He will cross water, canter around hay fields, and traverse any terrain on the buckle as long as he gets to be the leader of the pack. He simply loathes having to stop and wait. He’s my reminder to fearlessly trailblaze in my own life. To not hold myself back and instead be confident as I make my own strides forward.

I know we crashed through this jump last time but I’m gonna go ahead and try again for you.

No matter how badly I mess up, he always always gives me another chance to make it right. He teaches me to let go of grudges and move forward- there’s no point holding onto negative energy.

You haven’t given me a thorough grooming in a few days. So don’t expect me to look cheerful.

Sweet boy loves getting loved on. And he always reinforces the importance of nurturing my relationships. Of spending the time and effort to connect and take care of each other.

Lateral work is hard. The instant you take your leg off I’m just gonna do my own thing.

Leg on = hard work. Leg off = making stuff up as he goes. He’s my constant teacher that I get back what I put into my work, and giving up means missing out on some amazing results.

I LOVE playing Wild Island Stallion with my friends, but Mom is nearby so I’ll keep all four feet on the ground and make sure no one else gets too close.

As soon as he sees me coming, he stops romping and turns back into my gentle giant. He understands the value of being careful with your loved ones and making sure your actions match your intentions of keeping them safe and happy.

Who’s that sitting in the corner? I should go say hi. She looks nice. Maybe I get scratchies?

Francis LOVES strangers, and his favorite game at shows is to pose for photos with non-horse people. He never fails to go with ears perked to every new person to see if they might be a new friend. He’s my inspiration to approach new people with that same sense of curiosity and hope that they just may be a friend I haven’t made yet.

Oooh that’s the itchy spot. I should start grooming my human to see if she has any itchy spots too.

When I hit just the right spot on his neck, Frankie stretches out and starts nosing at my hip. He is so selfless in his thanks- he’s happy to receive some scratchies and returns the favor without hesitation. That’s the sense of gratitude and generosity I want to have for all the happy events in my life, big or small.

~~~~~~~~

And all this without even realizing it. Turns out my big goofy gelding is smarter than a lot of people.

What has your horse taught you about life lately?

8 thoughts on “My Horse, the Guru

  1. Jenn 02/07/2017 / 9:18 am

    That Franklin, what a bro 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Britt 02/07/2017 / 10:28 am

    This is so, so sweet. I love it- you really sound like you’ve found the perfect guy!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Stephen Carr 02/07/2017 / 10:57 am

    That horse is BRILLIANT!! And so are you that you can interpret his wise teachings! What a tremendous team you two make!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. HunkyHanoverian 02/07/2017 / 10:53 pm

    Love it!! Recently my boy has taught me that it’s better to be patient and build a solid foundation then rush and skip steps (long vet-related story). Horses teach us so much!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Avery 02/08/2017 / 10:27 am

    Love! I am all about this! Good on you for opening yourself up to all of his lessons! Horses/animals are way smarter than us

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

