Photo Perfection: Thoughts

I really liked Aimee’s post the other day on what pictures/information are appropriate to share online. I started writing out a comment but realized I had more to say! So here goes.

I walk in kinda a gray area where I don’t often share names or specifics (you’ll notice that I usually say Trainer and Assistant Trainer instead of calling them by name), but you could probably easily figure out who I ride with by spending 5 minutes looking through my blog. Between logos and barn names and shows and things like that, it isn’t a huge secret.

 

2year_victoriosa
Yeah I’m not the most subtle

So because I’m not entirely anonymous (and by extension, my trainer and barn are not entirely anonymous), I feel a big responsibility to keep things civil and reflecting well on the business. Anything that could even potentially be construed as negative towards my trainer or her business does not go on the blog. Period.

This has been super easy for me- I adore my trainer and my horse gets fantastic care. But even if this were not the case, my personal blog would not be my forum to express dissatisfaction. As Aimee said, so much of horse professional’s businesses are built on word of mouth. Their image directly correlates to their income and I decline to be the reason someone I work with loses business.

When it comes to other people on my horse, that will be a new puzzle for me. Up until now very few people have hopped on Frankie or Addy so this has been a non-issue. A few friends have sat on them and I’ve asked their permission to share cute shots before posting.

jenn_addy
Like when Jenn hopped on Addy and it was totes adorbs!

Moving forward, Francis is in training and I will get the opportunity to get some pics of him going with my trainer and assistant trainer. And I’m so excited to document that! It’s a serious pleasure to see him go with such talented riders.

BUT. These pictures will be shared ONLY after being cleared with Trainer or Assistant Trainer. In general I will also offer these images to them to use as example of training rides (they’re active on FB and frequently update the website). If they wouldn’t be comfortable sharing it themselves, then I will not share it.

If my trainer posts something, then she is willingly and knowingly opening herself up to criticism. If I post something of/about my trainer, she has not signed up for that criticism.

I’ve been extremely lucky in my year and a half of blogging: no crazies have darkened my doorstep. The comments I’ve gotten have been overwhelmingly positive and encouraging and supportive and I love it! My hope is that this continues.

What’s your privacy policy?

 

17 thoughts on “Photo Perfection: Thoughts

  1. sarahczspots 09/13/2016 / 8:36 am

    I honestly haven’t discussed my blog with my trainer at all, mostly because I haven’t been riding with him much since blogging because of money, etc. He’s commented on a couple of my things on fb, but I’ve never had reason to say anything negative about him on the blog, and even if I did, I agree with you that it isn’t the appropriate outlet, especially since my main followers on my blog are local people who I’m friends with on fb who would know him.

    Like

    • hellomylivia 09/14/2016 / 7:48 am

      Especially when readers are in the area, I think it’s a delicate line to walk!

      Like

  2. Britt 09/13/2016 / 9:41 am

    I will not ever post anything negative about my trainer(s), period.

    Like

  3. Centered in the Saddle 09/13/2016 / 9:44 am

    I’m similar to you, with either only using first names or trying to keep things semi-private. When including photos of other riders or people at the barn, particularly kids, I always get their permission (or a parent’s permission) before sharing photos, and do not use last names.

    Like

    • hellomylivia 09/14/2016 / 7:49 am

      Oooh very good point- especially with little kids, it’s so important to get parent’s permission

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Avery 09/13/2016 / 10:08 am

    I like your take. I have a similar view. I am still figuring it out myself!

    Like

  5. Monica V 09/13/2016 / 10:21 am

    I have nothing negative to say about supertrainer because she’s perfect in every way, was but NOT shy dragging she who must not be named through the mud because she deserved it. No one likes her anyways, and theres a good reason. Alas, that was almost 7 years ago.

    Now, I try to keep my friends names modified to one letter, simply because its not their world and not their choice to be involved and I would HATE to have an internet crazy be rude af. I always ask permission to post photos of them too. However, I keep it real and the realness usually jives with most people and I haven’t had issues in ages with haters. Also if you googled my location and barn initials it would;t be difficult to figure it out and honestly I LOVE my barn and Supertrainer and hope people find her through my blog.

    So to wrap up that half novel, first initials, ask permission and nothing really negative to say because they’re all wonderful.

    Like

    • hellomylivia 09/14/2016 / 7:50 am

      Makes it sooo much easier when everyone is actually good at their jobs and good to the ponies ❤

      Like

  6. Stacie Seidman 09/13/2016 / 11:41 am

    I try to follow the same path as you, but I have been guilty of posting photos of trainer on my blog without her knowing. (I don’t think she knows I have a blog.) The close up one I grabbed from the internet so I figure that’s already out there, she wouldn’t care. I guess the others I maybe should have gotten permission, but so far no negative nancies have flown my way either. They are usually far away shots of her jumping in the grand prix. I figure the show photogs post the same things without permission, so I don’t think I’m crossing any lines. I would never post a bad photo of her or anyone else. Well maybe of me, but that’s my prerogative.

    Like

    • hellomylivia 09/14/2016 / 7:52 am

      Haha agreed- I’ll post bad pics of myself, but not of anyone else. That’s a really interesting point that show photogs post similar things, I hadn’t thought about it that way!

      Like

  7. Olivia @ DIY Horse Ownership 09/14/2016 / 1:04 pm

    I don’t have a strict policy. I don’t share names except my own and clinicians (they’re selling their services on their name, I therefore feel fine using said names). My barn doesn’t have a name so that’s not really a secret thing so much as it is just my reality.

    Like

    • hellomylivia 09/15/2016 / 7:19 am

      Haha not having a barn name makes it a LOT easier not to share!

      Like

  8. Liz Stout 09/17/2016 / 7:12 am

    I haven’t had to worry about this until recently with Stephen. But fortunately Austen and Emma had already written about his clinics and teaching in the past so I had something to go from.

    I think *how* you write about an experience with a professional really matters, too. Even if you don’t have a great experience (I had a great experience!) there is certainly a way to recap it without being rude or coming across as unprofessional. I have to make “not okay” things sound “okay” at work all the time, so it comes a little easier to me than it may to others, but it definitely isn’t an impossible task by any stretch.

    Like

    • hellomylivia 09/19/2016 / 9:33 am

      Really good point! Obviously the message matters, but how you communicate that message matters just as much and maybe more.

      Like

Leave a Reply

