Second Goal Review Check-in

A couple people are checking in with their yearly goals, and I am once again jumping on that bandwagon. I had set some fun goals for myself early in the year and then revised them a couple months ago, so let’s take a look at the most updated version:

  • Get comfortable schooling full courses at 3’3″. Wellllll kinda. We pretty consistently jump this height without a fuss, but I wouldn’t say they’re full courses. We certainly incorporate this height more often, but it’s not super consistent.
  • Jump 3’6″ regularly. Wellllll kinda. We’ve done this once or twice, but again, not consistently. It doesn’t give me heart palpitations the way it used to, so that’s good, right?
  • Compete in the Adult Equitation Medal class at least once. Still on the list! The way a lot of shows around here run, the 3′ hunters are at the beginning of the day and the 3′ medals are at the end so we never want to wait around 8 hours for it to run. It makes zero sense. I’m still trying to make this work.
  • Try a jumper class. We did it!!! It didn’t go that smoothly, but it was tons of fun and I can’t wait to keep playing in that ring.
  • Make it to an “A” horse show. This is still a rather tentative goal. Trainer is hoping I can maybe join the barn when they go to HITS Culpeper in August or September, but this depends a lot on timing and if I can save up enough in the meantime. Keep your fingers crossed for me!
  • Learn how to braid manes and tails. I’ve been getting better at this- my tail braids are pretty consistently nice. I have yet to conquer the mane braids, but I will triumph!
  • Live through a lesson without stirrups. Getting closer! I actually feel more secure in my new boots, and going around without stirrups is slowly getting less painful. We’ve been doing solid chunks of our warmup sans stirrups, and I even drop them to jump on occasion.
  • Go on at least one trail ride. Totally done!!!! I’ve gotten to go with Courtney from Vintage Virginia not once, but TWO amazing times. I’ve also taken Addy out briefly on some of the bridle trails near the barn and managed to canter on a golf course that I’m TOTALLY allowed to be riding on. It still makes me a little nervous, but I’m definitely conquering that fear little by little.
  • Keep my confidence up. This will never not be a goal, and it’s going really well lately.

I’m also inspired by Aimee aka my favorite Sprinkler Bandit and am going to set a bigger goal. Here it is:

I want to compete in the Jr/AO Low Jumpers. This won’t happen this year, won’t happen next year, probably not even the year after that, but I want to make it to the 1.20-1.30m level. There’s all sorts of things that need to happen for me to get there (a couple big ones are me learning how to ride properly and getting my hands on a Jr/AO horse in my budget, so nothing too difficult, right?!) but that’s my big goal to work towards.

Time to buckle down and get to it!

14 thoughts on “Second Goal Review Check-in

  1. emma 07/17/2015 / 8:42 am

    love the big goals!!! and really, even tho not a lot is crossed off you’re definitely zeroing in on quite a few big accomplishments on your list. very exciting!!

    Like

    • hellomylivia 07/17/2015 / 8:47 am

      I’m feeling pretty good about it! Like you said, even though I can’t totally cross a lot of things off, we’re definitely making progress in that direction and that’s all you can ask for πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Erin 07/17/2015 / 9:14 am

    I love goal lists! Yours give me heart palpitations… 3’3″-3’6″?!?! Eek!
    I really need to make my own. I’m so bad it though. I’m more of a whatever happens happens kinda girl.

    Like

    • hellomylivia 07/17/2015 / 9:24 am

      I love goals, I love lists, goal lists give me the warm fuzzies πŸ™‚ Ain’t nothing wrong with taking things as they come, it’s clearly working for you and Tuck! You guys are rockin’ it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Erin 07/17/2015 / 10:12 am

        haha! Thanks. I see everyone’s lists and want my own though. Maybe next year.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Britt 07/17/2015 / 10:32 am

    We have the same goals- er, at least for height. Though I want to be jumping (almost) courses ideally at the 3’6″ height before competing at Training.. though I’ll take a mish mash of 3’3″ – 3’6″ anytime. In only I can get some jumping momentum going I think it would be possible!

    Like

    • hellomylivia 07/17/2015 / 10:54 am

      Woohoo for height goals! Getting the momentum going is definitely hard, even taking one week off can feel like a setback, I feel ya.

      Like

  4. Karley 07/18/2015 / 1:24 am

    You are doing great with your goals!!

    3’6 gives me heart palpitations πŸ™‚ lol

    Like

    • hellomylivia 07/20/2015 / 7:15 am

      Thank you!! The palpitations are definitely shrinking (though still there) haha

      Like

  5. Courtney 07/21/2015 / 11:13 am

    Nice work on those goals. I have a little tear that I was included. Now that fall is approaching, I guess we need to do a hunter pace! (go ahead and add that to your list! πŸ˜‰ )

    Like

    • hellomylivia 07/22/2015 / 8:23 am

      Consider it added! I’m so excited, we definitely need to make more plans soon πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Courtney 07/22/2015 / 10:51 am

        Agreed! perhaps including the menfolk this time. They seemed so heartbroken to be left out.

        Like

      • hellomylivia 07/22/2015 / 11:02 am

        Haha they were so sad last time! Though I’m not sure how useful they would be, I think they would probably go off together and hide and talk.

        Like

Leave a Reply

