Show Progression

I’m loving that people are sharing their progress pics (thank you to Lauren for the awesome idea!), so here’s our (very) short progression of pics from our shows. We’ve only been in the ring since March and have only been to 5 shows, so there doesn’t seem to be a huge difference- but hey, I’ll take any excuse to share pictures of my beautiful girl.

prog_show1 March ’15- our very first show together. We did the 2’6″ and 2’9″ hunters, and Addy was so relaxed about everything. She was also very bored by the height and pretty much cantered over the jumps.

prog_show2Also March ’15- our second show. We did the 2’9″ and 3′ hunters, and Addy was less relaxed. No shenanigans, but this is when Firebreathing DragonMare made her appearance. Apparently jumping 3′ is VERY EXCITING. Our flat classes were a disaster, but she was such a packer for my first ever trips at 3′!

prog_show3April ’15- Third show, and first outdoor show. 2’9″ and 3′ hunters again. We got waaaaay too quick pretty much everywhere and I had a very hard time keeping her steady. Nothing dangerous, just a little out of control. Flat class was ridiculous again, but overall we had a really fun day!

prog_show4May ’15- Our first jumper show (at 2’9″ and 3′)!!! We had quite a few setbacks in terms of duck outs/refusals, but it was so much fun going into the jumper ring. This is probably my favorite picture of us ever, I just wish it was nice quality instead of a zoomed-in screenshot.

prog_show5June ’15- A triumphant return to the hunter ring with one warmup trip at 2’6″ and then the 3′ division. Definitely our best show to date in terms of how relaxed and calm Addy was. We tried out a pelham and had a very calm warmup, and that eased Beastly into the day nicely.

I can’t really see much improvement in me here, which is kinda meh. I know I’ve been working on strengthening my leg and it’s gotten tons better, but I seem to forget everything I know at these hunter shows and just chuck my hands at her face. That’s what hunters do, right? Sigh. Time to drop my stirrups again. Apologies for the terrible photo quality, hopefully soon I’ll have some better ones to share!

10 thoughts on “Show Progression

  1. Lauren 06/29/2015 / 10:05 am

    I think you have a really solid leg over all of these – especially at 3′ on a big horse which is something I struggle with!

    Like

    • hellomylivia 06/29/2015 / 10:11 am

      Thank you! ….your struggle is not visible haha. I have a major crush on your leg. It is ON in every pic I see!

      Like

    • sarahczspots 06/29/2015 / 10:46 am

      I think someone needs to do a post on how to tell if someone’s leg is on or not. πŸ˜‰ We non-jumpers are oblivious! πŸ™‚

      Like

      • hellomylivia 06/29/2015 / 11:15 am

        Hehe if heel is down and leg is still close to the girth, then it’s beautifully on! If like me, your foot is somewhere near the tail, then maybe it’s time for no stirrup work πŸ˜‰ sigh.

        Like

    • hellomylivia 06/29/2015 / 2:44 pm

      Thank you!! I’m hoping that if I can get Addy white enough, it’ll throw glare in the judges’ eyes and they’ll assume everything looks perfect πŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. emma 06/29/2015 / 3:49 pm

    you guys have definitely made progress – even if you don’t necessarily see it in the stills. i think it’s more clear in the videos tho – in the general look of your rounds and quality of your canter between the fences. esp the videos from your last show – each round looked effortless. that’s definitely evidence of a lot of serious work!!

    Like

    • hellomylivia 06/29/2015 / 9:14 pm

      You really just made me smile so big, thank you πŸ™‚ I’m just so happy the hard work is visible!

      Like

  3. heartofhope10 06/29/2015 / 4:59 pm

    You two look great here! I love how much her color seems to change too πŸ™‚

    Like

    • hellomylivia 06/29/2015 / 9:13 pm

      Haha as the weather gets nicer, she’s much more pleasant to bathe!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

