Dusty Troxels, Internet Fame, and Horse Show Plans

This past weekend was chock full of awesomeness on the horse front! After a bit of a roller coaster last week, I’m so excited to share the awesomeness with you.

  • Addy and I had a bareback day. This may sound super minor to most of you, but I haven’t had a “goof-off” day since I owned my own horse in high school. There just isn’t the time to do that when you’re lessoning once a week on a school horse. Getting to hop on and bump around the farm a bit was so relaxing and made me feel like a “real” horse person again! I rode in street clothes and a dusty old Troxel (the dead bug was removed from the helmet before I used it) and got absolutely covered in hair, but it was totally therapeutic.
  • I’m on the internet! I submitted a picture from a recent lesson to Judge My Ride and I got a really quick response from Rob Gage! He didn’t really tell me anything I didn’t expect- I know Addy has perfect form, I was pretty happy with my upper body, and my legs desperately need strengthening- but it was awesome to get that feedback from him. Check out my post on their website here, or see it on Pinterest! Having my picture in two places totally makes me internet famous, right??

  • We have scheduled our first horse show!!! We’ll be attending the LTD show at Morven Park in Leesburg, VA on February 21. The plan now is to do the 2’6″ Schooling Hunter division, but that’s still under discussion. It’s right down the road from our barn and a fairly small show, so I think it’ll be a perfect low-key low-pressure way to enter the show ring. A little nervous and a whole lot excited.

Lots of good things, but as always in the horse world, something had to go wonky. Owner Lady said that Addy was a bit of a nut on Saturday, so Sunday I showed up (crop in hand) ready to WORK. She clearly had excess energy and I was going to flatwork that right into the ground. I was ready to go, and I felt that I needed a grueling ride to get my mental focus back- so of course I went to pick out Addy’s feet to get her ready to rumble. And she was missing a shoe.

Argh! The farrier will be there this week so we won’t lose too much time, but I have a feeling that these days off are going to make her even more energetic. I did stay on Sunday and groom her for a solid hour, so I still got my horse therapy that day and Addy got her scratches and treats.

Not the best wrap-up to the weekend, but lots to look forward to! Wish me luck when I do get back on…

WhoΒ else has a post on Judge My Ride to share? When’s your first show of the season? Anyone heading to Morven Park on the 21st??

10 thoughts on “Dusty Troxels, Internet Fame, and Horse Show Plans

  1. nbohl 02/10/2015 / 10:46 am

    My horse has also mastered the art of losing a shoe at worst moments!!!

    Like

    • hellomylivia 02/10/2015 / 11:11 am

      It’s always on just the day you don’t want it to happen! At least this is pre-show and not day of, thank goodness!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lauren 02/10/2015 / 10:58 am

    Excited for the show (and your internet fame)!

    Like

    • hellomylivia 02/10/2015 / 11:12 am

      I’m getting super pumped for the show! And I got a little irrationally excited about seeing my picture up…even though I was the one that posted haha

      Like

  3. Courtney 02/10/2015 / 11:15 am

    can I have your autograph!?
    very exciting news ahead! and since you didn’t mention it, I’m assuming Addy doesn’t have a horrible boney back. That helps to have a good bareback ride haha

    Like

    • hellomylivia 02/10/2015 / 11:19 am

      Oh man. The boney back was definitely there. I was so happy to be on bareback that I totally forgot to mention she has a shark fin for a back! Maybe next time it’ll be some side-saddle bareback shenanigans!

      Like

      • Annye / AnAmishWarmblood 02/10/2015 / 3:06 pm

        If you ride side-saddle bareback you absolutely MUST take a picture!

        Sorry about the shoe btw :/ Can she do anything without it? Longe? Bareback ride in the indoor? Or is she super ouchy?

        Like

      • hellomylivia 02/10/2015 / 3:11 pm

        Haha I’ll definitely document any silliness πŸ™‚

        I think she would probably be fine to ride in the indoor- we have nice soft footing and she’s got nice sturdy feet- but Owner Lady would rather be safe than sorry and she’s the boss! Crossing my fingers that she’ll be ready to go for my Wednesday lesson.

        Like

  4. Tracy 02/12/2015 / 10:06 am

    So exciting to have your first show on the schedule!!

    Like

    • hellomylivia 02/12/2015 / 10:13 am

      I’m so excited! I think it’s going to be a totally different experience from when I was a junior, so it’ll be an interesting test run.

      Like

Leave a Reply

