What’s worse than a worm in your apple? Running.

Manfriend did a bad thing. Or maybe it was a good thing. Or maybe it was me who did the bad good thing.

Let me start over.

There are two things you need to know about me: (1) I hate working out of any kind, and (2) I think running is the worst form of working out ever invented. My view is that maybe I’d run when I’m chased, but finding a good hiding spot would probably be more useful.

Sure I like the idea of running, in the sense that people are always saying what a stress buster it is, and running clothes are totally cute. But in execution? I start heaving after a half mile. You can just forget about a full mile; it’s not happening.

But I read an awesome blog post over at ShannonFromScratch the other day and it got me thinking. She didn’t try to make running sounds like some amazing problem solver, but instead as a challenge and an accomplishment. I could really relate to what she was saying and that’s what sold it to me. I don’t have to drink the Kool-Aid and become a marathoner. I can find my own balance that works for me. And maybe it really would be a good thing for my health and my riding (as an added bonus, it would shock Father Dearest when he heard that his oft-sedentary daughter was moving on her own two feet voluntarily).

So here we arrive at the good/bad thing I mentioned earlier: manfriend asked me to go running with him on Friday. And I said yes.

Kicking and screaming and bargaining over how far we’d go, I said yes. He had too many arguments for why it would be good for me (get me in better shape for riding, help me sleep better, get those dopamine levels up), and when that seemed ineffective he told me that he hates running alone. Guilt trip, ticket for one. His persuasive powers combined with the perfect timing on that awesome blog post sold it.

Sneakers donned and rarely-worn workout attire on, we set out the door. My commentary started up as soon as we hit the sidewalk:

“Aren’t we supposed to walk for a while? To warm up or something? I’m pretty sure we’re supposed to walk more. And we’re definitely supposed to walk around corners. Blind spots and center of balance and such. Do lungs normally make that sound? High impact activities aren’t good for my knees. My hands are cold. My nose is running. Are we almost done?”

All that before we even hit a quarter mile.

With the patience of a saint, manfriend pushed me when I slowed down and encouraged me when I kept up. He kept me out there just past what I thought my limit was and then let me catch my breath. Seriously, he’s the best. And you know what I thought about the whole thing?

It was just as bad as I knew it would be.

Nah just kidding, it was fine. Despite the wheezing and the cramps and the goshdarn freezing air in my lungs, I survived to blog another day. Did I love it? No. Did I feel like I had accomplished something really cool when we were done? Abso-frickin-lutely.

I might even go run again with him sometime.

Are you a running aficionado, or do you loathe it entirely? Any tips to make this whole “running” thing more bearable?

11 thoughts on “What’s worse than a worm in your apple? Running.

  1. Stephen 02/01/2015 / 12:01 pm

    I used to subscribe to the approach that every time I would feel the urge to run I ought to lie down until the urge passed, and it always did. Then I changed the way I run. I bought a pair of Vibram 5-Fingers; that forced me up onto the balls of my feet, ELIMINATED my foot/knee/hip pain and let me just enjoy the sensation of moving, my body responding as I want. I’m no marathoner, I’m not quick, but I can run until I feel like stopping, and I like that. Run lightly; run with joy!

    Like

    • hellomylivia 02/01/2015 / 12:04 pm

      Hmmm…lie down until the urge passes…I may have to give that a try. Or maybe I’ll just try running with joy!

      Like

  2. smcburch523 02/01/2015 / 12:04 pm

    Many of your same thoughts cross my mind when I’m running! Shouldn’t we walk more? My foot hurts, is it supposed to? I thought you said we were only going 2 miles! And I hate running in the cold!!! Good for you for getting out there! Keep it up and you’ll only get more and more proud of yourself! Once I got a base built up it was the thought of losing that that helped me drag my butt off the couch every day. Hang in there, follow unrunner runner!

    Like

    • hellomylivia 02/01/2015 / 12:05 pm

      There have been so many times that I’ve built up that base and then lost it, I’m going to make this the time that I don’t! Thanks so much for the inspiration and encouragement!

      Like

  3. Courtney 02/01/2015 / 12:26 pm

    hahah, yeah running sucks. It’s easier when you’re with friends and you don’t want to be left behind. That’s pretty much my only motivation.

    Like

    • hellomylivia 02/01/2015 / 12:28 pm

      It’s a constant juggle between “manfriend would never leave me behind” and “yes he absolutely would ’cause he knows I could make it home just fine.” Usually the second, followed by a “wait for me!!”

      Like

  4. Renee 02/01/2015 / 1:11 pm

    I didn’t crave running until my injured knee didn’t let me. Now that I’m able to run without pain (usually), I’m just… grateful. Then I think about people that can’t run at all, and it drives me to run another half mile. At least. Above all, though, it’s okay to hate running! Exercise does more when you love doing it, and I bet the riding has given you amazing inner thighs.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. carey 02/02/2015 / 12:00 pm

    I find a kick-ass-pump-me-up playlist (with a couple slower songs for a slower pace break) really help me get into a run. Some people prefer the quite nature around them, but I need some good beats to keep up with.

    Like

Leave a Reply

