Making You Happy Makes Me Happy

Manfriend and I were attendants in a wedding this past weekend, and it was absolutely amazing. We got to stand up with two of our best friends (the ones who introduced us!) and celebrate with them on one of the biggest days of their lives, and then we got to party hard with all our buddies. It couldn’t have been better.

Cheesin’ hard at the reception

It was the first Catholic wedding I’ve ever attended so I wasn’t really sure what to expect. I knewΒ what readings the bride had chosen from, but I was curious to see what the priest would choose to talk about.Β One thing that he said during the homily really stuck with me and I wanted to share it here.

Focusing on the self does not make a person happy. It is when he denies himself and sacrifices in order to make others happy that happiness arrives.

I loved hearing that! He went on to elaborate that when we keep track of who owes favors, it only leads to bitterness and unhappiness. It’s when we try to forget ourselves and focus on what’s best for others that we really find joy. He asked the guests who had experienced that- denied themselves something for the sake of someone else and found that all along it was the best thing they could’ve done. I know that I was certainly nodding as he said that.

It takes so much reminding of this- my first instinct is to always look out for #1. But then I remind myself of the times that I chose to put someone else first, and how that’s led to wonderful experiences and amazing memories and true friendships. And those are what leads to happiness.

What do you think of this message? Did you hear anything this weekend that inspired you like this?

Leave a Reply

