Slow Cooker Chicken Burritos

I mentioned in my first post that I would be sharing different lessons I’ve learned, and one of the most important lessons of all was how to feed myself without going broke.

This is my favoritest, easiest, simplest meal in the rotation, and I make them about every other week. Bonus: manfriend gets super pumped when I share, so it’s not just me that likes them!

Ingredients:

    • Large soft tortillas
    • Chicken breast
    • Salsa- roughly 4 oz. per chicken breast
    • Favorite spices
    • Cheese
    • Other toppings

I know, that’s super vague. But that’s the beauty of this! Pick your favorite salsa- I like chunky and mild kinds the best- and your favorite cheese- I’m a big fan of the shredded Mexican kind. I like to top mine with ranch dressing and shredded lettuce, but the sky’s the limit. And the amounts are totally adjustable too; I like to make enough to last a whole week since I’m just feeding myself (and occasionally manfriend).

This is the one recipe I’ll buy in bulk for- with a fairly small apartment and having to share fridge/cabinet space with the roomie, there’s just not enough room to buy the club packs or anything like that. But for this, I’ll buy a nice big pack of chicken, a bunch of tortillas, and the large jar of salsa because I know I’ll cook it all up as soon as I get it.

The steps:

  1. Put the chicken in your slow cooker and pour your jar of salsa over it.
  2. Add your favorite spices- I usually add garlic powder, cumin, smoked paprika, and chili powder.
  3. Cook on low for 6 hours or on high for 4 hours.
  4. Shred the chicken using two forks and mix it all together with the salsa.
  5. Assemble burritos with whatever your hungry heart desires.
  6. Pig out on your delicious burritos.

I like to put everything in the slow cooker on Sunday night and assemble all my burritos for the week before heading to work on Monday morning. Depending on your toppings and choice of tortilla this can be as health-conscious as you want or as gluttonous (guess which end of the spectrum I tend to go for…). Woohoo for cheap clean eating!

What’s your go-to easy recipe? Any tips for eating healthy on a budget?

Leave a comment